So, if six strings are good, eight must be fucking awesome!!!!


One of the reasons why I subscribed to Guitar World this year was because I wanted to see who the up and coming guitarists are. The latest issue of Guitar World features two new guitarists and a familiar one. The man above is Tosin Abasi who is a monster on guitar! Granted I am a little hesitant when it comes to more than just six strings on a guitar. To me, its just another gimmick. The first time I saw a seven string it was on Steve Vai’s GEM Guitars through Ibanez. Did it make a real difference in his playing? Not really. However with eight strings, now you open yourself to more open chord voicings. I really wish I had the time to invest in playing these instruments. I barely have time for a six string never mind eight. What about the chapman stick? Forget it! Anyway, Tosin’s band is called Animals as Leaders, very prog rock. Don’t let this deter you if you have an aversion to such music, it has a broad definition. It can be entertaining without being wanky. That being said, take some time to expand your mind and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

